Checkm8
Server Admin
Server Admin

Games Played

Ville Awards

Loading…

Need advice

Post by Checkm8 » Fri May 11, 2012 9:58 am

So... I am not a hardware guy. I know enough to be dangerous but I am not guru in hardware.

I am currently in the process of wanting to spend a little money. :P

I was thinking.. either upgrade my almost 3 year old CPU and Mobo.

Currently I am rocking:

GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD3 LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 92mm Fluid Dynamic CPU Cooler

They are both still working fine but I am American and want more more more!! I want to stick with Intel for the processor and I really have no preference for mobos as I have no knowledge of them. I would probably get a new CPU cooler as well and just give my old one away with the old CPU.

My current system has:
COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN1-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power ATX12V Ver.2.2 / EPS12V version 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply
2x Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
320 GB Hitachi HDD (backup Drive)
HIS IceQ X Turbo H695QNT2G2M Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9
Windows 7 Professional 64bit

I am thinking a quad core processor, of course. Most like an i5 or i7 (leaning more towards i7). I do not not know the best combinations here. For now, I really have no budget constraint but would not mind seeing and low cost to high cost evaluation.

Boss Llama
Site Admin
Site Admin

Games Played

Ville Awards

Loading…

Re: Need advice